Interview with Kory Stagg, fantasy football owner extraordinaire

Kory Stagg, owner of the Saskatchewan Bruiser (2010 Athlete’s Angle Listener League Champion), joined us on the show (Road to the World Junior Tournament, air date: January 10, 2011) to discuss what it takes to get to the top of the fantasy football ranks.

Catch the entire interview below:

Ryan asked what Kory’s keys to success in the championship game were. “My players that I was counting onto do well, did well for me,” said Stagg. “I was worried a little bit about New England maybe not playing Brady as much but he played through and Benjarvus Green-Ellis got a lot of carries and … the stars were aligned.”

Ryan asked who was the MVP for Stagg’s team this season. “I would say my MVP for the entire year is the Law Firm, Benjarvus Green-Ellis,” said Stagg. “Pretty unsung I thought. Nobody really expected much of him and it took injuries to get him onto the field but once he came and played, he played really well.”

Ryan mentioned that Stagg was recently married and asked where he finds the time for fantasy football and if it comes at a cost to something or someone. “Absolutely. The wife knows (that) during the football season that she comes in a strong #2 and fantasy football and watching football is #1 for me,” said Stagg.

Ryan mentioned the 2010 draft debacle in which Dallas accidentally bid $185 of his $200 cap on one player (Ryan Matthews) and asked who Stagg would spend $185 on if he couldn’t figure out how to work the very simple ESPN draft interface. “I think I would probably put it on Jamaal Charles in Kansas City,” said Stagg. “Going forward, I think he’s a dual threat with both running and passing and I don’t think you’ll see Thomas Jones get as many touches next year and you’ll see Jamaal Charles’ touches go up.”

One response to “Interview with Kory Stagg, fantasy football owner extraordinaire

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.Sugarland Roofing Contractor, 517 W. Hilary Circle, Sugar Land, TX 77498 – (281) 724-3750

Leave a Reply

