Mendenhall Loses Endorsement Deal Over Tweets

Last week, following the news of Osama bin Ladan’s death, Mendenhall put out some pretty interesting Tweets about the story and 9/11. Here are a few tweets from Mendenhall’s account:

“What kind of person celebrates death? It’s amazing how people can HATE a man they have never even heard speak. We’ve only heard one side…”

“We’ll never know what really happened. I just have a hard time believing a plane could take a skyscraper down demolition style.”

"All I know is that if I find out that Mendenhall is upset about getting dropped, I am really going to be pissed." - Dallas Karhut Senior Writer for Athlete's Angle.

First of all, I’m not here to dispute conspiracy theories and talk politics. And if I was, I certainly wouldn’t go see a football player for a crash-course in ethics or to get his professional opinion in structural engineering.

The interesting part, as reported by ESPN (check out the full story here), is that his apparel endorsement deal with Champion appears to be over just a couple days after Mendenhall and Champion agreed to a four-year extension, all because of a few tweets. I really don’t know what the point of this post is. All I know is that if I find out that Mendenhall is upset about getting dropped, I am really going to be pissed.

On Mendenhall’s Twitter page, he describes himself as a “conversationalist and professional athlete”. Rashard, I think you got the order wrong. You’re a pro athlete then a conversationalist. Please keep in mind that if you weren’t a pro athlete, nobody would care that you’re a “conversationalist”.

Rashard, people like the way you play football. People also like the way you look wearing their apparel. Why did you take all of that liking and assume people would like what you have to say? I seriously don’t have a problem with the tweets (that doesn’t mean that I agree to them but I can appreciate somebody saying something they believe is correct).

Again, I’m not ripping him for simply stating something he believes or asking thought-provoking questions. I’m just sick and tired of another famous person, somebody who lives in a world where people slurp you up because you a) have money; b) have friends because of a); c) you’re right all the time because nobody wants to tell you otherwise, again, probably because of a); and d), at least in Mendenhall’s case, is good at football, wanting to help little ol’ me out by explaining how the world works.

I think the one message Mendenhall was trying to get across, at least what I’ve figured out with the first tweet, is that people can be pretty short-sighted and ignorant. Then, Mendenhall dives into, what I’m guessing, is his very broad and extensive background in Civil and Stuctural Engineering to question how the buildings fell. In one tweet, he rips the ignorant and foolish, then in the next, he is the ignorant and foolish.

Please remember Rashard, just because you have 43,000+ followers on Twitter for Rashard Mendenhall the football player, doesn’t mean that Rashard Mendenhall the “conversationalist” has 43,000+ followers as well. You’re a football player. Please remove “conversationalist” from your title, put your helmet, and just play football.

7 responses to “Mendenhall Loses Endorsement Deal Over Tweets

  1. Wow Dallas, we don’t usually see eye to eye, but I loved this post. I have been reading about this and was ready to just rip Mendenhall a new one for the Conspiracy Theory tweet. I hadn’t heard about the endorsement deal loss yet, but I like your breakdown.

    Nice work.

  2. And on 2nd read through, I have found something to quibble over.

    Although I agree that everyone has the right to make comments, I believe that every comment should be open for discussion and critique as well. If Mendenhall put on his timeline that he “believes” you are a racist, would you not want to “rip” him for simply stating his belief. Personally, I would.

    He says on his timeline that he wants people to just think. With all the sunshine that he has being blown up his ass by his followers he has probably stopped “thinking” or evaluating his own beliefs. That gets very dangerous.

  3. I really wasn’t sure exactly what got me so fired up over this whole story but I think you’re touching on it with your last comment.

    I don’t think I would want to rip him for calling me a racist (even though it is completely untrue with the exception of that little Mexico comment that somehow slipped out). A part of me, and bear with me here as I’m trying to articulate my thoughts, does believe that you can broadcast your message no matter how ridiculous it is. I believe it’s up to the listener to take something that is being offered up and figure it out for themselves. I don’t know if that’s good or bad.

    For example, say Mendenhall did tweet that I was a racist. I would tend to rip the people that called me a racist simply because they read the Mendenhall tweet. The guy that reads Mendenhall’s tweet and listens to last week’s Athlete’s Angle, then calls me a racist…well, I probably wouldn’t take issue with that.

    I used to rip people who call George Bush an idiot. For most people, they were able to join in political conversations by simply stating that Bush is an idiot. Most of these people called Bush an idiot simply because everybody else was calling him an idiot. Worst yet, they can’t tell you about any of the good things Bush did while in power, and there were some good things. Even worst yet, these people can’t tell you exactly what idiotic things Bush did while in power.

    I guess what I’m trying to say is that too many people hear something and get so excited about how smart they’re going to sound when they tell everybody about it that they forget to take the time to actually consider the many different sides to a story and come up with a valid opinion. It’s okay to be wrong, trust me, I can appreciate that, but you gotta have some solid ground to stand on when you open your mouth.

  4. “It’s okay to be wrong, trust me, I can appreciate that, but you gotta have some solid ground to stand on when you open your mouth.”

    You disagree with me about Mendenhall and yet your closing statement seems to mirror my exact feelings.

  5. I don’t think I said I disagree with you. Again, let’s go back to the Mendenhall example. If Mendenhall posted I was a racist, I don’t know if there is much I can rip him for that (okay, so I guess this is where we disagree). I don’t want to play the game where I try to figure out how he came to that conclusion. Maybe he saw me do something, maybe it was a complete misunderstanding (like our last radio show), maybe he found a Dallas Karhut tweet that wasn’t from my official Twitter account. I don’t know and I wouldn’t feel comfortable in jumping all over somebody without fully understanding what it was that made them say it.

    That quote you have up, I’m referring to the distributors of news, not the sources (and I’m talking about people, not organizations). In the same example, it’s the people who would then read Mendenhall’s tweet about me and start throwing it around everywhere simply because Mendenhall said it. Again, they don’t know why Mendenhall tweeted, it could be for any of the reasons I stated above, but none of them know. These are the people that piss me off.

    In my ideal world, people make claims and allegations and what not, hopefully they’re based on some truth, experience, or something like that. But in my ideal world, rumours would not happen because it would be up to the next person in line to figure out what the truth is. I can’t get too upset at the source because so many things can be interpreted so differently.

    Does any of this make sense?

  6. It probably does to someone Dallas, just not to me. I see why you want to rip the secondary, but I just don’t like to let the primary person off so damn easy.

  7. Good, you are following me.

    The only reason why I would let the primary person off easy is because it’s difficult to figure out what somebody was thinking when they interpret something. It seems like many of the discussions that happen involving one person interpreting another persons actions result in somebody saying, “that’s not what I meant”. I don’t care to break down that game film.

Leave a Reply

